Research & Division Leaders

The Asset Institute brings together a core team of research and industry experts to facilitate collaborative working relationships between researchers, asset owners and operators, government bodies and aid agencies amongst others in order to ensure state-of-the-art engineering asset management solutions and training. Comprising both engineering professionals and accomplished academics they bring a wealth of experience and expertise to our organisation.

Professor Joseph Mathew, Chief Executive Officer

Joe is a Mechanical Engineer with extensive experience in academia, academic administration, research and research management, and consulting. He led CIEAM since it was founded in 2003 and specialises in condition monitoring, diagnostics and prognostics of machine systems. He is one of the two founders of the International Standards Organisation’s Committee on Condition Monitoring and Diagnostics of Machine Systems (ISO TC 108/SC5), which he chaired from 1996 – 2014. He also initiated the International Society of Engineering Asset Management (ISEAM) and the World Congress on Engineering Asset Management (WCEAM) in 2006. In 2017, Joe was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award by ISEAM for his exceptional dedication and contribution to advancing the field of Engineering Asset Management and a Pioneer award for his foundational contributions to ISEAM as its Founder and Chair of the Board in its first 11 years. Joe is the key facilitator behind the Asset Institute’s transition from a CRC.

Professor Brett Kirk, Western Australian Division Director

Professor Kirk is Director of the Sino-Australian Joint Research Centre for Ocean Engineering, a partnership between Curtin University and Ocean University China. He developed and implemented the current Curtin University International Research Strategy.  He established the Curtin-India Research Academy (CInRA) which currently hosts Joint PhD programs with four highly prestigious Indian Institutes of Technology (Madras, Kharagpur, Kanpur and Indian School of Mines). Professor Kirk has held the role of Associate DVCR at Curtin University for six years. Prior to joining Curtin, Professor Kirk was Deputy Dean (External Relations) at the University of Western Australia and Head of School of Mechanical and Chemical Engineering.  He is also a current ARC College member and chaired the 2015 ARC Linkage selection panel.

Professor Robin Drogemuller, QUT, Theme Leader – Design and Construction

Robin is Professor of Digital Design at QUT and holds qualifications in architecture and mathematics & computing. Robin worked as an architect and then as a project manager in South Australia and the Northern Territory before joining academia. Robin’s research uses IT tools to support decision making in the design, construction, operation/management and demolition of buildings and infrastructure. He has also led projects in electrical distribution networks and aircraft design and maintenance. Robin has contributed actively to the development of international standards for the exchange of asset information for over 20 years and has won a number of awards for research projects while at QUT and in his previous position at CSIRO.

 Professor Andy Koronios, UniSA, Theme Leader – Integration and Interoperability

Andy has qualifications in electrical Engineering and IT and specialises in information systems and information management. He has extensive experience in both commercial and academic environments and has interests in electronic commerce, information quality, strategic information management, and IT-driven innovation. He is currently the Dean: Industry and Enterprise and was formerly Head of the School of Information Technology & Mathematical Sciences and was the research program leader for CIEAM’s Integration and Interoperability Program

 Professor Kerry Brown, ECU, Theme Leader – Organisation and Planning & Deputy Director of our Western Australian Division

Kerry Brown is the Professor of Employment and Industry in the School of Business and Law at Edith Cowan University and Director of the Centre for Innovative Practice at the university. She was previously a Co-Program Leader, Sustainability and Organisational Performance Program with CIEAM and Professor of HRM at Curtin University. Professor Brown is a founding Executive Board Member of the International Research Society for Public Management (IRSPM) (2006-2012) and Executive Board Member and Founding Fellow of the International Society for Engineering Asset Management (ISEAM) since 2007. She was awarded an Australia and New Zealand Academy of Management (ANZAM) Research Fellow (2009-2018). Her international expertise in the area of asset management is demonstrated in being an invited member of the Standards Australia Mirror Committee MB019 Asset Management (since 2010) and a member of the International Standards Organisation ISO TC251, Asset Management.

 Professor Lin Ma, QUT, Theme Leader – Asset Health and Analytics

Lin is an accomplished academic and researcher in integrated asset management platforms, optimal decision support and condition-based asset health prediction. She led the Capability Optimisation research program in CIEAM and worked closely with industry partners to address their critical needs. Together with her team, a number of advanced asset management systems, modules and industry utilisation cases have been successfully developed and utilised. Her achievements have received commendation. She is a recipient of the Queensland’s Smart State – Smart Woman Award as well as the QUT Vice Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research.

 Professor Ashantha Goonetilleke, QUT, Theme Leader – Sustainability and Resilience

Ashantha is an Environmental Engineer with a track record for developing extensive industry collaborative links, producing research outcomes of relevance to industry and the community and the translation of research outcomes to practical application. He was the Director for Infrastructure Research, Faculty of Built Environment and Engineering, QUT and served for ten years in a technical advisory role in sustainability with Brisbane Airport Corporation and has also held the Professorial Chair in Airport Innovation. His areas of expertise include, infrastructure resilience, climate change adaptation and water supply security, conservation and sustainability.